A Motivational Speech: My Struggle to Be Motivated

Standard

I find myself struggling to be motivated.

I will make to-do lists that fill pages and go to bed with the mindset of “You’re gonna be so productive tomorrow! You’ll wake up at a decent time, start your day off right with a good breakfast, and get your exercise done right away before tackling that to-do list. You go this!”

*8:00 the next morning*

“Maybe I’ll take an easy day. I can sleep in a little while longer, make some chocolate chip pancakes, find a movie on TV or something, and then after while I can maybe do some cleaning or something.”

I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong. Maybe it’s that fact that I work better with time constraints; this summer I hardly have any. During the last year I was busy as all get out, so I had less of a problem making myself just keep going.

How can I make myself motivated to improve when I actually need to be?

My summer is already almost halfway gone, and yet I haven’t lived it at all like I want to be living it. But should I be living my life that way, “that way” being high expectations and plans and exactness? Should I chill out and live life day to day? Will I have regrets? I have a fear of having regrets.

Needless to say, my thoughts and motives are a bit out of line right now, and I don’t know what to do. And if there’s anything that bugs me, it’s not knowing things that I feel like I should know.

 

Leave a Reply

