A Whole New World (To You)

Image

A Whole New World (To You)

Big cities. Crowded, congested, polluted.

I’m a small town girl from the Midwest, so most of my friends and family prefer things down to scale with personal interactions and friendly faces. I love the quiet of the country and the visibility of the stars, but somehow I also managed to fall in love with the one and only New York City.

I didn’t fall in love with the hustle and bustle (although I am always hustling and bustling, so it’s nice not to be alone), and I didn’t fall in love with the noise and traffic.

I did, however, fall in love with the expansive endlessness of the city and the culture and diversity of the people. First of all, you can wear what you want without getting weird looks and you can act like you want and no one is going to notice you unless you go to an extreme. But beyond that, I feel in love with this:

If you are walking down the street, at any given spot there have been millions upon millions of other people in the same exact spot, going to a million different places, for a million different reasons.

Some people don’t like how small this makes you feel, how insignificant and unimportant you suddenly seem. I think it’s fascinating to have the world feel so big. There’s so much out there, so many people and places. So many people very similar to you, with the same interests and talents and habits. The world is a huge place, with so much to experience and explore! With all of these places and people comes opportunities to make any dream you have come true.

What are you waiting for?

(I do not own any rights to this photograph, although I could dig out my own pictures of the NYC skyline from the Empire State Building… it just wouldn’t be as impressive.)

Leave a Reply

